My Own For You

My Own Goodies Shared with You!

Indiana’s Religious Freedom Law Stirs Intollarant Response

Religions Freedom in USA

 

Indiana’s new religions freedom law has generated an avalanche of negative response primarily from gay and lesbian groups across the nation, resulting in some refusing to do business in the State. The response was totally unexpected because 19 other states have passed similar laws without any backlash.  The Washington Post revealed this fact.

On Friday, the Washington Post published an article titled “19 states that have ‘religious freedom’ laws like Indiana’s that no one is boycotting.” The article snarks about organizations like the NCAA that have protested Indiana’s law, noting “the NCAA didn’t say it was concerned over how athletes and employees would be affected by Kentucky’s RFRA when games were played there last week.” The piece concludes “Indiana might be treated as if it’s the only state with a bill like this, but it’s not.” The piece has been shared over 75,000 times on Facebook. (Source: http://thinkprogress.org/lgbt/2015/03/30/3640374/big-lie-media-tells-indianas-new-religious-freedom-law/

So what is all the fuss over this law passed in Indiana? There is a distinction in Indiana’s law that the other states’ laws do not have. With Indiana’s law, disputes between private citizens are included while in the other states, and in the Federal law signed by Bill Clinton, that clause is excluded. The fear is that the new law in Indiana will be used to discriminate between gays and non-gays.

I’m amazed we need any laws about religions freedom passed at all. Doesn’t our Constitution of the United States guarantee religions freedom? Of course it does. But there is a continual onslaught of laws that do infringe upon those rights so the need for laws to counteract them seem expedient.

I have to pose a question to my fellow Christians though that might help to clear the air. To add context to my question let me state that I believe the Bible clearly states that homosexuality and lesbianism is “against nature.”

Romans 1:24-27  Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves: 

Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.

For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature: 

And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.

Now I didn’t write the Book, and I didn’t create mankind. Neither did you. You didn’t put the ‘natural rules’ into place and all you can do is live by the natural order or corrupt it. We clearly see God’s attitude toward those who corrupt it. He allows them to corrupt themselves because of their attitude.

I obviously think homosexuality and lesbianism is sinful. It’s against God’s natural order.  I base what I believe on the written Word of God.

With that in mind, here is my question.

“What is wrong with serving a homosexual or lesbian?”

Shock horror!  Did I really say that? Hmm… let me explain.

If I teach something in God’s Word to someone — anyone — am I not serving that person?  It doesn’t matter if it’s a gay person or not, I am serving that person God’s Word. Is there anything wrong with serving a gay person the Word of God?

Of course not. That’s what serving people is all about — helping them with whatever they need that you are able to supply.

So what’s the ‘big deal’ if a gay comes into my restaurant and I serve food to that person? What’s the big deal if I own a bakery and a gay couple comes in and orders a wedding cake?  Am I in violation of anything if I serve that cake to the gay couple?  I am violating my conscience if nothing else. That, I should not be forced to do.

Now let’s change the scenario. Let’s say I’m a Christian minister who can legally perform wedding ceremonies. If I agree to perform the ceremony for a gay couple, now I’m crossing the line. Now I have to explicitly go against what the Bible clearly says is wrong to meet that gay couple’s needs.  If I do so, I am violating not only my own conscience but God’s Word itself. That I will not do and I should not be required to do it under any law of man.

The Constitution of the United States guarantees my religions freedom. It guarantees that the government can pass no law that infringes on my free expression of my religions beliefs. If that same government makes me perform a marriage ceremony for gays and then accuses me for discrimination if I don’t, we have a big contradiction.

In summary, it’s a shame states like Indiana have to pass religions freedom laws when our very constitution guarantees it. More startling is the outrageous reaction by businesses and other organizations to Indiana’s new law. You would think Americans would stand up for our Constitutional rights. This doesn’t seem to be the case any longer.

What makes my weep is that these very Americans who are destroying our religions freedom are tearing at the very fabric of freedom in our nation. What they do not seem to understand is that the very actions they are talking today will hurt them in the end. As religions freedom erodes, so do our other rights. Some day they will wake up oppressed in what used to be “the land of the free and the home of the brave.”

Will they be so vocal then?

 

 

The original article is published here.

Comments are closed.